Click Here if this page fails to display properly

November 5, 2009
Contact: Jeff Darman 

Kathleen Sherman Named 
2009 MarathonFoto/Road Race Management
Race Director of the Year

The diverse committee made up of prominent race athletes, media, corporate executives and club directors charged with selecting the 2009 MarathonFoto/Road Race Management Race Director of the Year has named Kathleen Sherman, Director of the CIGNA Falmouth Road Race as the 2009 MarathonFoto/Road Race Management Race Director of the Year.

Sherman was honored at a reception at the Road Race Management Race Directors' meeting in Hollywood, FL on November 5. The award is presented by the Running Network.

"We had our usual impressive field of well-qualified candidates, but Kathleen emerged as a consensus winner," said Road Race Management President, Phil Stewart. Described by Bill Rodgers as "the Gold Medal of race directing," the award has become one of the most prestigious honors in the sport of road racing.

The 2009 winner had already been working on her event for 14 years when Fred Lebow won the first Race Director of the Year award back in 1987. Sherman has a penchant for details, supervising and coordinating the loading, distribution, reloading and packing away of 21 large trucks, orders all the food and coordinates the post-race party. And as if that wasn’t enough, after race morning set-up she serves as the Race Announcer! She also manages the negotiations and purchasing of the event's entire line of merchandise. 

Her 37-year tenure started when 92 runners competed in the first race in 1973. This year 10,000 runners finished and thousands more wanted to but could not due to field-size limitations in Falmouth. Her nominator best summed up her role saying, "When she steps down, we’ll have to find several people to replace her."

The MarathonFoto/Road Race Management Race Director of the Year award is made annually to recognize and promote excellence in race directing. Nominees were judged on several factors, including overall ability, reputation of race, creativity and organizational ability. Previous recipients have included: Rafael Acosta (World’s Best 10K), Steve Bosley (Bolder Boulder), John Conley (Austin Marathon), Julia Emmons (AJC Peachtree Road Race), Ed Froehlich (Quad-City Times Bix 7), Chuck Galford (Cascade Run Off), Susan Harmeling (Publix Gasparilla Distance Classic), Jon Hughes (Disney Marathon), Bob Ingalls (Utica Boilermaker), Scott Keenan (Grandma’s Marathon), Fred Lebow (ING New York City Marathon), Philip Lockwood (Steamboat Classic), Jim Marino (Blue Cross Broad Street Run), Dave McGillivray (Boston Marathon), Jeanette Park (Publix Gasparilla Distance Classic), Carey Pinkowski (Bank of America Chicago Marathon), Earle Reed (Utica Boilermaker), Bill Reef (Bolder Boulder), George Regan (Freihofer’s Run for Women), Tracey Russell (Ukrop’s Monument Avenue 10K), Steve Shostrom (Steamboat Classic), Allan Steinfeld (ING New York City Marathon) and Harold and Louise Tinsley (Rocket City Marathon).

Road Race Management ( is a member-based organization that publishes a newsletter and many other publications designed for race and industry professionals and conducts a prestigious annual national race directors' meeting and trade show in Florida. MarathonFoto is the world’s largest race photography company ( The Running Network ( 23 print magazines and 24 websites, featuring the finest regional and national running publications in North America.

Road Race Management Race Directors' Meeting